Click to Home
Go To Search
emergency alert off
Council Information
The Common Council consists of 17 members and is the governing body elected by the residents of Wauwatosa. Wauwatosa has 8 aldermanic districts. Each district is represented by 2 Alders. The Mayor is elected at-large and represents the entire community.

As the legislative branch of our local government, the Council makes policy decisions and sets city-wide priorities and policies. The Council directs the City Administrator to implement these policies and priorities. 

The Council adopts ordinances and resolutions necessary for efficient government operations, approves contracts, and the city's budget. It appoints the City Attorney, as well as the members of the City's citizen committees, who are recommended to the Council for their appointments by the Mayor. The City Administrator reports to the Committee of the Whole consisting of the 16 alders and excluding the Mayor. 

The Common Council meetings regularly on the first and third Tuesday of each month at 7:30 p.m. and may call additional special sessions, including Committee of the Whole meetings, as necessary. The Common Council meets at City Hall in the Council Chambers, located at 7725 W. North Avenue

You can find the Common Council's agendas, minutes, meeting packets, and videos of their meetings in the Meeting Portal. You are encouraged to attend Common Council meetings or follow along on the Council's actions through the Meeting Portal. All meetings are open to the public. There is no public comment during Common Council meetings, except during public hearings. Public comment is welcome in discussions at the council committee meetings at the discretion of the committee chair. 

Helpful Links
Contact City Council Members
Map of Aldermanic Districts 
Meeting Portal
Strategic Plan
2018 Budget 

IntranetPortal | 7725 W. North Avenue | Wauwatosa, WI 53213 | Phone: (414) 479-8900 | Legal Notices | Privacy | Accessibility | Copyright Notice | Powered by CivicPlus