Distinguished Citizen Award

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

About the Award

Since 1964, The Wauwatosa Distinguished Citizen Award Council has honored the people who have made significant voluntary contributions to community life in Wauwatosa to make this city such a great place to live. Leaders in our school systems, fire and police services, civic, business, neighborhoods, community services, and historic preservation have been honored over the years for their selfless dedication to making a difference in everyone’s life who lives in and around Wauwatosa.

Nominations Currently Being Accepted

Nominations are currently being accepted for Wauwatosa's 2019 Citizen of the Year. Nominations may be made by any person, group of persons or organization, but self-nomination will not be accepted.

Download the nomination form.

Paper forms are available at the City Clerk’s office in City Hall, or the Wauwatosa Public Library. The deadline for nominations to be received by the Wauwatosa City Clerk is Monday, January 20, no later than 4:30 p.m.

Eligibility Requirements

To be eligible for nomination for the Wauwatosa Citizen of the Year Award, the nominee(s) shall have made significant voluntary contributions to community life in Wauwatosa.

The nominee should not have received financial compensation for these contributions, and they shouldn't represent normal unpaid extensions of a job. Elected officials are not eligible for nomination during the term of their office.

It's not necessary for a nominee to be a Wauwatosa resident, but service to Wauwatosa and its residents is required.